The Pit People – Early Access Red

Now from the way I talked about Early Access last week, you’d think that I was against Early Access.


However, I do know that it is useful and I can understand why they do it.

I also do not see it as a bad thing… some games do need Early Access to help.

The question is… which ones?…  And how do you go about it?


And here’s the strange thing… I don’t have a definitive answer but I have a few gut feelings.

Firstly, you must have something that people want to go back to… well this is the obvious one but that’s my gut feeling and I’m sticking with it.

Secondly, avoid MAJOR plot twists… if you play your hand too early then you leave nothing available to enjoy in the final game… it’s Early Access Games that avoid giving too much away.  The demo of SuperHOT (not an Early Access Game but I received it early due to backing it) did tell part of the story but it held back major elements of the story and mechanics that, if released, would have given nothing to come back to.  Darkest Dungeon, also expanded it’s roster of allies, enemies and locations during early access making it feel fresh throughout but they didn’t charge head first into major plots.

Thirdly, they created speculation; Hello Neighbour is only in Alpha but there is a large amount of speculation and videos on “The Neighbour” and the connection with Faust and the Devil keeping it fresh in the minds of the people.  There is a risk however that the speculation can work against you; speculation can be as dangerous as hype in the sense that it can raise expectations beyond what can be achieved.


These are just a few ideas on the best games for early access… if I have any more ideas, I’ll put down sides.

Obligatory Follow Me Section


werewolf-small-faebookwerewolf-small-twitter

Leave a Reply

