The Chaos Clock – A Working Game in 1 Week

Last Week I finished my first play test with a group of 5 of us…


… and it was one of the games that I designed in 7 days.

For someone like me, this was a shock…  this game kept their attention for three hours (we lost but THREE HOURS)… and not the type of three hours punctuated with stories of life, this was three hours trying to defeat this game as a group.

Something designed so quickly worked so well.


I think what I want to talk about, with this blog, is something important that allowed me to do this; confidence.

This is something that I have personally used to have issues with and I’m actually growing it right now, but how?…

Firstly, I’m looking at the people around me; there were a number of negative people in my life a few months back and, slowly, they are no longer in my life.

Secondly, I have just finished an 18 month agency placement which was extremely positive; I was able to hold my own in a tough environment.  This can always boost your confidence.

Thirdly, I have been running an RPG as GM.  This has been a baptism of fire especially when you do not use a pre generated rule-set; you have nothing to fall back on, it is make or break based on your own abilities.

At the same time I have been fortunate enough to get my ideas into the hands of people who want; I have seen people be heavily critical with people’s ideas without saying why and it has destroyed their confidence and, yes, I have met these people before.  The worst thing you can do to someone’s idea is not say why there is something wrong with it.


Confidence can be key to make or break a game as a designer and if you fail to have confidence in your own work.

But, at the same time, you have to set up the scenario that gives boosts to your confidence.

Obligatory Follow Me Section


test-card-werewolf-copy

werewolf-small-faebookwerewolf-small-twitter

Leave a Reply

