Rollplay – How do they do it?

I don’t know how he does it?


One of my heroes in Twitch land is a guy called JP, he runs a Twitch Channel called itmejp, recently I had the chance to watch him do his 9 hour run.

One of the flagship shows he has is called “Rollplay”.

Rollplay is a show where he uses an on-line tabletop called roll20 to play a variety of roleplay systems.  He does it using skype and several of his friends from the world of Twitch.

It brings a question how does he pull them together?  I only managed 3 weeks before I had to stop because people couldn’t make the timeslot we had allocated.

I then compared my life to theirs (enough to depress you but…) and it became very simple.

Firstly, these are pure players, developers and designers, they already have a very flexible work/life balance and so they can get away with it.  All three of my original crew have jobs and lives that are not as flexible and so they have to take life when we can.

Secondly, I think the fact that they have a solid twitch base helps, you can tell they are watching the chat (travelling at 300 mph but…) and knowing that they are doing the right thing.

Thirdly they do cameras.  I want my personal life so I don’t do webcam (although I could do webcam and wear a mask but… no I hate masks) but they do and the reaction is priceless making it more personal, also they can see each other so they can bounce off each other’s reactions.

It is this combination that I think that makes them come back to the game time and time again.

http://www.twitch.tv/itmejp

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCQj4ZJd2QxRHwVYQbMvcKdQ

Below is my feeble attempt just to show a comparison:

Leave a Reply

